Foolish Mortal

First Concert in 20 Years! Well…

A friend and I are going to a concert tonight. We are going to see Mortiis, with Brighter Death Now and Sombre Arcane opening. I have been a Mortiis fan since the early 90s. We used to get photocopied catalogs in the mail from Projekt Records.1 I would read the descriptions of albums and buy them based off of that. I didn’t have any other way to know what these bands and artists sounded like first. They had sampler CDs too. They were a big help, but not every band was on those. Sometimes it didn’t turn out too well. Other times, I would find life changing albums, like Mortiis’s Ånden som gjorde opprør.

The last concert that I went to was in 2004. Cradle of Filth and Type O Negative co-headlined, while Moonspell was the opening band. I went for Moonspell, stayed for Type O Negative and (once again) experienced life changing music via Cradle of Filth. I had never heard them before. When they took the stage and the first notes of The Promise of Fever sounded, I was blown away. They’ve been my favorite band ever since.

Why such a long time between concerts?

Parenthood took priority. My daughter was born in 2005. From that point on, I always had something to do on nights that bands were in town. Daycare, school, homework, various evening classes and all the stuff that parents have to do. My daughter is now a freshman in college. These past 19 years have been amazing and I wouldn’t trade them for anything. But I thought maybe I could go to a concert, since she is living on campus now.

The universe had other plans for me.

I have Covid.

I haven’t had Covid since December 2022. That was the only other time that I had it. Of all the days for me to catch it, why did it have to be today? Now I’m not going anywhere.

Stupid diseases…







  1. I believe that Cold Meat Industry released it and Projekt distributed it.

#health #music